Racing Website
Melbourne Cup Home
Melbourne Cup News
Race Day
Full Results
Full Form
Race Day Ticker
Runner Details
Neural Analysis
Melbourne Cup
Cup Preview
Aspro's System
Cup Statistics
Cup Statistics II
Global Affair
International Runners
International Riders
Jockey Records
Lead Up Races
Track Map
Trip Analysis
Leading Trainers
Winner in Trivia
Fashion Videos
Melbourne Cup Videos
Cup Background
2013 Melbourne Cup Historical Preview
Trip Background
Original Top Weights
Favourites Record
Fun Stuff
The History
2012 Results
Where are they Now?
Photo Finishes
Previous Winners
Banjo Patterson Poem
Phar Lap
Makybe Diva Stks Preview
Turnbull Stks Preview
VRC Derby Preview
Mackinnon Stks Preview
Myer Classic Preview
Coolmore Stud Stks Preview
Melbourne Cup Preview
VRC Oaks Preview
Emirates Stks Preview
VRC Stks Preview
Feature Races
VRC Derby History
Mackinnon Stks History
Myer Classic History
Coolmore Stud Stks History
VRC Oaks History
Emirates Stks History
VRC Stks History
 Aspro's Melbourne Cup System

Delta Blues

After searching back through many articles and statistics for the Melbourne Cup I have discovered this little "System" which has a pretty good strike rate for selecting the best Melbourne Cup chances each year.

Like anything "mechanical" the system it is not infallible but in the last 44 years (last 7 years published on Racing and Sports), the System has selected 33 winners (including Delta Blues last year) as well as numerous placegetters, some at excellent odds.

The rules are quite simple and have been designed to focus on the best qualified local chances coming into the big race.

Aspro's Melbourne Cup System
Rule 1    List any Cup acceptor placed in either he Caulfield Cup and MacKinnon Stakes 
Rule 2    List any Cup acceptor placed 2nd, 3rd or 4th in the Moonee Valley Gold Cup 
Rule 3    List any acceptor who was placed 1-2-3 in the Melbourne Cup at their last cup run. 
Rule 4    List the Saab Quality winner 
Rule 5    Delete any horse whose last run in the Melbourne Cup was an unplaced run. 
Rule 6    Delete any horse who is aged 3YO or 7YO or older. 

The names of the runners left are the selections and the Group which most of the Cup winners have come from over the last 44 years.

Over this period at level stakes the System has maintained a healthy return .

Past Results of Aspro's System

Recent Winners
2006   Delta Blues (Won 14/1) 
2005   missed 
2004   Makybe Diva (Won $3.60) 
2003   missed 
2002   Mr Prudent (2nd 40/1) 
2001   Ethereal (Won 9/1) 
2000   Brew (Won 14/1) 
1999   Rogan Josh (Won 5/1) 
1998   Champagne (2nd 7/1) 
1997   Might And Power (Won 7/2) 
1996   missed 
1995   Doriemus (Won 10/1) 
1994   Jeune (Won 16/1) 
1993   missed 
1992   Veandercross (2nd 9/4) 
1991   Let's Elope (Won 3/1) 
1990   Mr Brooker (3rd 14/1) 

Other Past winners
1988   Empire Rose 5/1 
1985   At Talaq 10/1 
1982   Gurner's Lane 8/1 
1980   Beldale Ball 11/1 
1979   Hyperno 7/1 
1978   Arwon 5/1 
1977   Gold And Black 7/2 
1976   Van Der Hum 9/2 
1975   Think Big 33/1 
1974   Think Big 12/1 
1973   Gala Supreme 9/1 
1972   Piping Lane 40/1 
1971   Silver Knight 10/1 
1970   Baghdad Note 25/1 
1969   Rain Lover 8/1 
1968   Rain Lover 7/1 
1967   Red Handed 4/1 
1966   Gailiee 11/1 
1965   Light Fingers 15/1 
1964   Polo Prince 12/1 
1963   Gatum Gatum 25/1 
1962   Even Stevens 3/1 
1961   Lord Fury 20/1 
1960   Hi Jinx 50/1 

Aspro's 2007 Melbourne Cup System Qualifiers

Rule 1 - Placegetters in Caulfield Cup/Mackinnon Stakes
Master O'Reilly - Douro Valley - Princess Coup + Sirmione -Princess Coup - Zipping

Rule 2 - 2nd to 4th in Moonee Valley Gold Cup
Lazer Sharp - Sarrera

Rule 3 - Placed in 2006 Cup
Maybe Better

Rule 4 - Winner of Saab Quality

Rule 5 - Delete Zipping

Rule 6 - Delete Sarrera,

2007 Cup System Final Qualifiers

Unusually, there are quite a few selections this year - Hopefully one will salute at long odds.

Master O'Reilly, Douro Valley, Princess Coup, Sirmione, Lazer Sharp, Sculptor, Maybe Better

Good Luck


Makybe Diva (2005) becomes the first horse to win three Melbourne Cups (2003, 2004 & 2005).

Racing and Sports Racing and Sports Pty Ltd |  R&S Terms of Use |  R&S Privacy
This area is maintained by Racing & Sports Pty Ltd (ABN 093 360 108) ("R&S"). Copyright in all R&S materials is owned by Racing and Sports Pty Ltd (R&S). While Racing and Sports takes all care in the preparation of this information it accepts no responsibility nor warrants the accuracy of the information displayed. This information is provided for entertainment purposes only. Any monetary investment based on information displayed on the site (or affilated sites) is at the risk of the investor. Please check all Race Fields and TAB numbers with an official source.